Coach Stuart Baxter names Bafana Squad for Afcon 2019

South Africa soccer coach Stuart Baxter has named his final 23-man Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) squad.

CAF rules allow for only 23 players to be registered for the tournament, as a result, Baxter had to trim down his initial 28-man squad.

After the withdrawal of France-based midfielder Keagan Dolly through injury and Mamelodi Sundowns defender Rivaldo Coetzee for personal reasons, Baxter only had to drop three more players.

The unlucky trio to miss out on a spot in the final squad are Cape Town City’s Kermit Erasmus, Orlando Pirates’ Ben Motshwari and Maritzburg United’s Fortune Makaringe.

On Monday, Bafana will leave the country for a mini-camp in Dubai, where they will face Ghana before heading to Cairo for the Afcon finals.

They will open their Afcon campaign against Ivory Coast on June 24.

Bafana’s full AFCON squad:


Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams, Bruce Bvuma


Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti, Thamsanqa Mkhize, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Innocent Maela, Daniel Cardoso,


Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Thulani Serero, Thembinkosi Lorch, Lebogang Maboe, Themba Zwane.


Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Lars Veldwijk.

You Might Also Like – Emtee booted out of his luxury House & fancy Car by Ambitious Entertainment

Mzansi’s trap star, Emtee is reportedly been booted out of his luxury house and fancy car by Ambitious Entertainment. The main reason for this action is said to be the call for #FreeEmtee which the starburst last week. see more

The post Coach Stuart Baxter names Bafana Squad for Afcon 2019 appeared first on